About Us | Help Videos | Contact Us | Subscriptions

Members of ASA, CSSA, and SSSA: Due to system upgrades, your subscriptions in the digital library will be unavailable from May 15th to May 22nd. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and thank you for your patience. If you have any questions, please call our membership department at 608-273-8080.


Institutional Subscribers: Institutional subscription access will not be interrupted for existing subscribers who have access via IP authentication, though new subscriptions or changes will not be available during the upgrade period. For questions, please email us at: queries@dl.sciencesocieties.org or call Danielle Lynch: 608-268-4976.



This article in JPR

  1. Vol. 3 No. 1, p. 86-90
    Received: June 22, 2008

    * Corresponding author(s): b.badu-apraku@cgiar.org
Request Permissions


Registration of Striga-Resistant and Drought-Tolerant Tropical Early Maize Populations TZE-W Pop DT STR C4 and TZE-Y Pop DT STR C4

  1. B. Badu-Apraku *a and
  2. C. G. Yalloub
  1. a IITA-Maize Breeding, c/o L.W. Lambourn & Co., Carolyn House, 26 Dingwall Rd., Croydon CR9 3EE, UK
    b INRAB-Plant Breeding


Two maize (Zea mays L.) populations, TZE-W Pop DT STR C4 (Reg. No. GP-574, PI 654407), white- grained, flint/dent, and TZE-Y Pop DT STR C4 (Reg. No. GP-575, PI 654408), yellow-grained, flint/dent with drought tolerance and moderate levels of resistance to the flowering parasitic witchweed, Striga hermonthica (Del.) Benth, were developed at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA). The two breeding populations were released to national maize programs in west and central Africa as source germplasm in 2004 for the development of Striga-resistant synthetic varieties, parental inbred lines, and hybrids. The populations were released for their superior grain yield under Striga-infested and noninfested conditions. They also have good levels of resistance to maize streak virus, tropical lowland rust (incited by Puccinia polysora Underw.), and blight [caused by Bipolaris maydis (Nisikado & Miyake) Shoemaker]. In multilocation trials in Benin Republic and Nigeria, 2006 and 2007, TZE-W Pop STR C4 outyielded the Striga-susceptible check TZE Comp. 4 by 44% under Striga infestation and 12% when noninfested. Under the same conditions, the increased yield for TZE-Y Pop DT STR C4 was 42% (Striga infested) and 16% (noninfested). The check variety TZE Comp. 4 suffered the highest Striga damage and supported the highest number of emerged Striga plants when Striga infested.

  Please view the pdf by using the Full Text (PDF) link under 'View' to the left.

Copyright © 2009. Crop Science Society of AmericaCrop Science Society of America