About Us | Help Videos | Contact Us | Subscriptions

Popular Content


NEW! Focus Topics collect the latest research on 12 core trending topics.


Most-Read Papers

The most-read papers from March 2017.



Modeling Soil Processes: Review, Key Challenges, and New Perspectives
H. Vereecken, A. Schnepf, J.W. Hopmans, M. Javaux, D. Or, T. Roose, J. Vanderborght, M.H. Young, W. Amelung, M. Aitkenhead, S.D. Allison, S. Assouline, P. Baveye, M. Berli, N. Brüggemann, P. Finke, M. Flury, T. Gaiser, G. Govers, T. Ghezzehei, P. Hallett, H.J. Hendricks Franssen, J. Heppell, R. Horn, J.A. Huisman, D. Jacques, F. Jonard, S. Kollet, F. Lafolie, K. Lamorski, D. Leitner, A. McBratney, B. Minasny, C. Montzka, W. Nowak, Y. Pachepsky, J. Padarian, N. Romano, K. Roth, Y. Rothfuss, E.C. Rowe, A. Schwen, J. Šimůnek, A. Tiktak, J. Van Dam, S.E.A.T.M. van der Zee, H.J. Vogel, J.A. Vrugt, T. Wöhling and I.M. Young
Soil Moisture Remote Sensing: State-of-the-Science
Binayak P. Mohanty, Michael H. Cosh, Venkat Lakshmi and Carsten Montzka
In Situ Root System Architecture Extraction from Magnetic Resonance Imaging for Water Uptake Modeling
Laura Stingaciu, Hannes Schulz, Andreas Pohlmeier, Sven Behnke, Herwig Zilken, Mathieu Javaux and Harry Vereecken
Hydrologic Impacts of Thawing Permafrost—A Review
Michelle A. Walvoord and Barret L. Kurylyk
In-Situ and Remote Soil Moisture Sensing Technologies for Vadose Zone Hydrology
Ali Fares, Marouane Temimi, Kelly Morgan and Thijs J. Kelleners
Recent Developments and Applications of the HYDRUS Computer Software Packages
Jiří Šimůnek, Martinus Th. van Genuchten and Miroslav Šejna
Modeling Nonequilibrium Flow and Transport Processes Using HYDRUS
Jirka Šimůnek and Martinus Th. van Genuchten
Numerical Modeling of a Soil-Borehole Thermal Energy Storage System
Nora Catolico, Shemin Ge and John S. McCartney
Organic Materials Used in Agriculture, Horticulture, Reconstructed Soils, and Filtering Applications
Jean Caron, Robert Heinse and Sylvain Charpentier
Understanding Preferential Flow in the Vadose Zone: Recent Advances and Future Prospects
Nicholas Jarvis, John Koestel and Mats Larsbo


Most-Cited Papers

The most-cited papers based on data from Google Scholar (last updated 3/16/2017).



A review of advances in dielectric and electrical conductivity measurement in soils using time domain reflectometry
D. A. Robinson, S. B. Jones, J. M. Wraith, D. Or and S. P. Friedman
Measuring soil water content with ground penetrating radar
J. A. Huisman, S. S. Hubbard, J. D. Redman and A. P. Annan
Development and applications of the HYDRUS and STANMOD software packages and related codes
Jirí Šimůnek, Martinus Th. van Genuchten and Miroslav Šejna
Soil moisture measurement for ecological and hydrological watershed-scale observatories: A review
D. A. Robinson, C. S. Campbell, J. W. Hopmans, B. K. Hornbuckle, S. B. Jones, R. Knight, F. Ogden, J. Selker and O. Wendroth
Estimating uncertain flow and transport parameters using a sequential uncertainty fitting procedure
K. C. Abbaspour, C. A. Johnson and M. Th. van Genuchten
Dynamic effect in the capillary pressure–saturation relationship and its impacts on unsaturated flow
S. Majid Hassanizadeh, Michael A. Celia and Helge K. Dahle
The TOUGH codes—A family of simulation tools for multiphase flow and transport processes in permeable media
Karsten Pruess
Modeling Nonequilibrium Flow and Transport Processes Using HYDRUS
Jirka Šimůnek and Martinus Th. van Genuchten
Wastewater Irrigation: The State of Play
Andrew J. Hamilton, Frank Stagnitti, Xianzhe Xiong, Simone L. Kreidl, Kurt K. Benke and Peta Maher
Water Flow and Heat Transport in Frozen Soil
Klas Hansson, Jirka Šimůnek, Masaru Mizoguchi, Lars-Christer Lundin and Martinus Th. van Genuchten